top of page
Search
  • gsp002gp

Pursuing Dreams

Hey Guys!

I know it’s been a while since I’ve blogged, but I’ve been working on one of my goals which is obtaining a degree. So today I would like talk to my parents that have been debating on going back to school but feel like there is no hope or that it is unachievable. First, I would like to say those “valid” reasons that you think are valid is actually what is holding you back. I had to realize that myself! For so long I wanted to go back to school, but I always told myself that I couldn’t because I didn’t have help with my kids, I had to work, I had to be available, I didn’t have the time, that it had been so long, etc. etc. I mean I came up with every reason to why I thought I couldn’t go back. Then one day I realized that it’s all about having faith. That those “valid” reasons was nothing more than just excuses because anything is possible right. So one day I decided to just apply and go for it and stop standing in my own way of excelling. Let me tell you, that was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I constantly prayed that everything would fall in place. If you’re like me than you know that prayer works wonders. I literally took the first step of enrolling and everything started to just fall in place for me. To think that all of these years I’ve been wanting to go back and I just never took the initiative to try. WOW!

So I want to encourage you all to just try. Go for it! Give it your best shot! You will be surprised at what you can achieve if you just put forth the effort and have faith. I can’t express to you enough how self-doubt is the biggest dream killer. The only person putting limits on what you can accomplish is you. Believe in yourself! I’m not telling you that you won’t have some days where you question yourself as to why you even decided to go back, but in the end when you’re holding your degree, you will remember all of the long nights, tears, sacrifices, and most importantly you will look at your kids and you will realize that it was all worth it. Look I went to college and got pregnant & dropped out, tried online and quit, left an abusive relationship and tried to go back while being a single mother of 3 smalls one and gave up and failed out. I decided I had enough of feeling defeated and because of God’s grace my kids got to watch me watch across the stage as a Cum Laude graduate. YOUR PAST DOES NOT DEFINE YOUR FUTURE! Plus, the wonderful thing about achieving something after you doubted yourself is that you just don’t want to stop there. It motivates you to keep pursuing for more and more because you realize that you can do it. On that note, keep pushing because you are DESTINED FOR GREATNESS! I am rooting for you!!

"Remember your dreams and fight for them"

31 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page